About St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church
The German Evangelical Lutheran Church of Charleston, South Carolina, was incorporated on December 3, 1840 by a German-speaking citizens who wished to worship in their native language. The congregation quickly outgrew its original building at Hasell and Anson Streets. In 1872, the congregation moved into its current location at 405 King Street. Through usage and custom the Church is now known as St. Matthew’s German Evangelical Lutheran Church or St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church and is a member of the South Carolina Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. From the beginning until today, St. Matthew’s has served the needs of others in our local community and throughout the world.
St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church archives is comprised of volunteers dedicated to protecting the rich history of the Church. The archives collection includes a vast range of documents in German and English dating back to 1840, including Hampstedt Cemetery (1841-1859), as well as historical records of Bethany Cemetery which was purchased by the Church in 1856.